Sunday, September 22, 2019

Knight Continues To Dominate North State Modified Series

Darrin Knight of Kelseyville won his third consecutive modified feature Saturday night.

Via Nadine Strauss/NSMS Media

Eureka, CA..... September 21, 2019… Coming back from his wins at Douglas County Speedway in Roseburg, Oregon on August 24 and Lakeport Speedway last weekend, Darrin Knight of Kelseyville did it again at Redwood Acres Raceway in Eureka Saturday night during race number 11 of the North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest. The three-time NSMS champion pocketed another $1000 for his impressive win over points leader Scott Winters of Tracy and Randy Houston of Medford, Oregon.

The points battle was close heading into the 60-lap event with Cameron Austin moving ahead of Winters by one point when he clocked in fastest in qualifying. Austin’s 16.511 second lap beat Winter’s time (16.512) by one-one thousandth of a second. But lady luck was not on Austin’s side as just before the green flag flew in the main event the upper rear suspension link on his car failed. A temporary fix allowed him to start the race, but his tenth place finish boosted Winters into a 15 point lead with only one race left in the 2019 season.

The starting grid saw Houston move up to the front row when Keith Bloom Jr’s car suffered a broken transmission and had to retire to the pits. Houston forged ahead of pole sitter Rich Cobb at the start with Knight tight on his bumper. Houston pulled back in line, but Knight continued his outside run until he pulled along side of Houston and stole the lead on lap four. Terry Deal, who drove his final race with NSMS before his move to Tennessee, ran fourth behind Cobb. Winters swapped places with Deal on lap six, and drove under Cobb for third on the tenth circuit.

As Knight was pulling away, Winters caught Houston, and when Houston gave Winters an inch, Winters poked his nose under Houston’s car to take over the runner-up slot on lap 14. Three rounds later Deal dove under Cobb, and when Cobb pushed high, Deal, Jeremy Nowlin and Richie Potts all drove by.

At this point Knight began lapping the slower cars while Winters car gained ground. By lap 40 Winters was running inches behind Knight in the hopes that Knight would make an error that Winters could take advantage of. But Knight’s run was flawless in the non-stop event as he drove to victory like the champion that he is. Winters settle for second with Houston third, Deal fourth and Nowlin fifth. Sixth through tenth went to Potts, Cobb, Sal Lopez, Rick Avila and Austin.

Bloom was the $100 winner in the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash over Deal, Potts, Lopez, Avila and Houston. Winters passed the most cars to earn the Keyser Manufacturing Hard Charger award. The Naake Shocks certificate was given to Houston. Knight, Lopez and Nowlin received the Frank's Radios awards.

The final event for the 2019 North State Modified Series will be on October 5 at Shasta Speedway in Anderson. The event will be the 4th annual “Against the Wind Lloyd Burton Challenge with $1500 going to the winner of the 60 lap main event.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Keyser Racing Products, Scribner Plastics, and Franks Radios.

Cameron Austin 16.511, Scott Winters 16.512, Darrin Knight 16.554, Jeremy Nowlin 16.744, Randy Houston 16.777, Terry Deal 16.817, Keith Bloom 16.966, Rich Cobb 17.024, Richie Potts 17.071, Rick Avila 17.354, Sal Lopez 17.477

Keith Bloom Jr, Terry Deal, Richie Potts, Sal Lopez, Rick Avila, Randy Houston

Darrin Knight, Scott Winters, Randy Houston, Terry Deal, Jeremy Nowlin, Richie Potts, Rich Cobb, Sal Lopez, Rick Avila, Cameron Austin